Whirly-Girls Achievement Awards

Livingston Award

WG#4 Nancy Livingston Stratford established the Livingston Award in 1988 in memory of J. Arlo Livingston, Alaska pioneer helicopter pilot, member of the Whirly-Girl’s Auxiliary and past president of the Helicopter Association International.

This award honors a woman who has achieved distinction for the contributions she has made on behalf of women in helicopter aviation. It is awarded to a living Whirly-Girl who personifies the high standards and ideals of women in helicopter aviation, and who has contributed in a significant way to the advancement, recognition and credit of women in helicopter aviation.

Anyone may nominate a Whirly-Girl for this award. Relevant material (in English) should accompany the nomination form, such as details of certificates and flight hours; copies of commending letters, press accounts and citations; organizational affiliations and offices; helicopter-related activities, and any other information that would support the nomination. An informal nominating letter relating as much of the above information as possible will be accepted.

Do you know a Whirly-Girl who is an ideal candidate for the Livingston Award? Please make a nomination. Download the nomination form (in Word format) and send it with any supporting material to WG#202 Diane Dowd by December 15.

Livingston Award Recipients

1989 – WG#13, Jean Ross Howard
1990 – WG#46, Lauretta Foy
1991 – WG#21, Charlotte Kelley
1992 – WG#27, Dora D. Strother McKeown
1993 – WG#6, Dr. Gen. Valerie Andre
1994 – WG#118, Jean K. Tinsley
1995 – WG#52, Betty Pfister
1996– WG#55, Doris Lockness
1997-98 – WG#2, Ann Shaw Carter
1999 – WG#295, Sherry Knight Rossiter
2000 – WG#215, Betsy Johnson
2001 – WG#515, Laura Goldsberry
2002 – WG#247, Nelda Lee
2003 – WG#50, Ilovene Potter
2004 – WG#20, Evelyn Bryan Johnson
2005 – WG#40, Fran Bera
2006 – WG#56, Mary Raub

2007 – WG#435, Colleen Nevius
2008 – WG#738, Inna Kopetz
2009 – WG#740, Lisa DiGiovanna
2010 – WG#310, Alacia Lane
2011 – WG#465, Bev Haug-Schaffter
2012 – WG#340, Sheryl Brakey
2013 – WG#202, Diane Dowd
2014 – WG#212, Nadine Fetsko
2015 – WG#313, Cindy Wilson
2016 – WG#1034, Stacy Sheard
2017 – WG#548, Terri Watson
2018 – WG#440, Bonnie Wilkens
2019 – WG#1070, Janie Foster
2020 – WG#744, Pamela Gallina
2021 – WG#1582, Jeanette Eaton
2022 – WG#747, Melissa Mathiasenn
2023 – WG#613, Lynda Colarossi

Emeritus Circle Awards

Previous Whirly-Girls boards of directors established the Emeritus Circle as a way to capture the acquired wisdom of an experienced group of members about the organization and its operations. The Emeritus Circle consists of Whirly-Girls who have served on the board or in an executive position within the organization.

Their mission is to document lessons learned to avoid repeating mistakes, help keep up momentum as the organization grows and moves forward, advise the Board of Directors, oversee special projects, and present the Emeritus Circle Awards. Any former Whirly-Girls board member or executive officer who has fulfilled her full term is eligible for membership in the Emeritus Circle.

The Emeritus Circle annually chooses the recipients of the Diamond Award, the Volunteer of the Year Award, and the Associate Award from nominations received by members of the Whirly-Girls.

The Emeritus Circle Chair presents these awards during the annual Whirly-Girls Scholarship Awards Banquet at HAI HELI-EXPO. These awards are only presented if there are nominees who, in the opinion of the Emeritus Circle, merit the awards. 

Do you know a Whirly-Girl or Associate member who is a great candidate for an Emeritus Circle Award? Please send your recommendation to the Emeritus Circle Chair at emeritus@whirlygirls.org

Diamond Award Recipients

The Diamond Award is presented to a Whirly-Girl who has given of herself to a long-term project benefitting the Whirly-Girls.

Here are the recipients of the Diamond Award: 

2007 – WG#31, Danna Henderson
2008 – WG#295, Sherry Rossiter
2009 – WG#459, Bev Vetter
2010 – WG#810, Teen Corey
2011 – WG#744, Pamela Gallina
2012 – WG#1259, Sarah Neely
2013 – WG#925, Ginger De Villa Rose
2014 – WG#740, Lisa Di Giovanna
2015 – WG#413, Cathy Adams
2016 – WG#1363, Sabine Buehlman
2017 – WG#1178, Dianna Stanger
2018 – WG#718, Cassandra Morris
2019 – WG#388, Deborah Sawyer
2020 – WG#1329, Laura McColm
2021 – WG#4, Nancy Livingston Stratford
2022 – WG#1921 Sami Challburg
2023 – WG#1772 Ronnie Johnson

Volunteer of the Year Recipients

The Volunteer of the Year Award recognizes a Whirly-Girl for her contributions to a project for the organization that has shown an outstanding positive effect within the past year. 

Here are the recipients of the Volunteer of the Year Award:

2007 – WG#718, Cassie Morris
2008 – WG#1040, Jen Boyer
2009 – WG#1329, Laura McColm
2010 – WG#1204, Lisa Pendergrass
2011 – WG Auxiliary, Laura Mazzadra
2012 – WG#31, Danna Henderson
2013 – WG#1676, LeAnne Gomez
2014 – WG#1772, Ronnie Johnson
2015 – WG#1398, Kate Garrison
2016 – WG#1340, Megan Dukes
2021 – WG#2041, Victoria Palmer
2022 – WG#2077, Melissa Day 
2023 – WG#1947, Grace Wagner
2023 – WG#1748, Hope Siebert

Associate Award Recipients

The Associate Award, formerly known as the Auxiliary Award, is presented to an Associate member who has been of great service to the organization. Associate members who have strong advocates for the Whirly-Girls for many years are given Lifetime Associate Awards. 

Here are the recipients of the Associate Award: 

2010 – Jack Corey – Auxiliary Member of the Year
2011 – Laura Mazzadra – Auxiliary Member of the Year
2012 – Ian Turner – Auxiliary Member of the Year
2013 – Tom Cook – Auxiliary Member of the Year
2014 – Barry Pomeroy – Auxiliary Member of the Year
2017 – Lisa Ray – Auxiliary Member of the Year
2019 – Sara Mazzarella – Associate Member of the Year
2019 – Kaye Mains – Lifetime Associate Award
2020 – Jeffrey Smith – Lifetime Associate Award
2021 – Ainsley Martin – Associate Member of the Year
2022 – Tamara Jackson – Lifetime Associate Award
2023 – Samara Mashal – Associate Member of the Year